In the Realms of Sorrow

Four Cantatas by George Frideric Handel with additional music by Héloïse Werner 
                               London Handel Festival/ Stone Nest 

Cast: James Laing / Jonathon Luke Baker / Patrick Terry / Nardus Williams / Soraya Mafi / Claire Booth

Band: Lucia Capellaro / Roderigo Checa / Charlotte Fairbairn / Oonagh Lee / Rosie Moon / Jonas Nordberg / Joel Raymond / Marguerite Wassermann

Conductor: Laurence Cummings / Designer: Hannah Clark / Lighting and Video Designer: Josh Pharo / Choreographer: Emma Woods / Photographer: Camilla Greenwell

★★★★★ The Observer
★★★★★ The Arts Desk

★★★★★ The Times
★★★★ The Guardian
★★★★ Bachtrack

Raw, muscular, visceral, haunting – this was Handel as you’ve never experienced him before.
Arts Desk *****

Bodies in space, tumbling, rolling, hurtling; at the same time singing, playing, dancing […] unforgettable
Observer *****

I’ve never seen or heard those early Handel works brought to life so vividly.
The Times *****

This was an electrifying piece of advocacy for works that many would regard as footnotes to Handel’s career

The Spectator
This was a performance of searing impact.

Opera Today 
Directed by Thomas with meticulous care and invention.


Will I ever forget it? Not a chance.

The Guardian ****